Home > Uncategorized > Psy-1100: Reflective Writing

Psy-1100: Reflective Writing

Social Sciences

Psy-1100: Human Growth and Development

Reflective Writing

For this assignment, we were asked to complete a reflective writing prompt on a topic such as what I have learned in the class, what was difficult for me, how I grew as a student, etc. I chose to address this question: “What were the most meaningful accomplishments for you in this class? What risks did you take as a student/person in this class and how did you learn or grow from those risks?”

Here is my essay:

 

Before this class began, I assumed it would be easy for me. Growth and Human Development didn’t seem like a very difficult topic- after all, I am a human who has grown to adulthood, so I thought most of the subject matter would be fairly easy to learn. My preconceived notions were quickly shattered, however, when the course began and I learned what would be required of me during the semester.

I am not a very emotional person. Like most men, I feel like I have the emotional range of a teaspoon. Part of the requirements of this class, however, included meaningful, thoughtful discussions for each chapter in the book, as well as responding to other student’s discussions. Out of anxiety, I missed the first four chapters of discussion in the course. Fortunately, the instructor was willing to work with me and let me make up those discussions for partial credit. When I finally sat down to write my first discussion, in which I was to briefly describe one of my personal characteristics or abilities that I thought was due to nature, and one that was due to nurture, I froze. For some reason, the thought of writing something so personal and posting it online for all of my classmates, and my teacher, to see, terrified me. So, I ended up writing about how I was tall and athletic. My anxiety about contributing meaningful, personal, discussions to the class persisted throughout the next few chapters worth of discussions.

It wasn’t until chapters 5 & 6 that I finally made a connection with what I was supposed to be writing about, and something that was meaningful to me. The prompt for the discussion asked us to think about children ages 2-6 and their media exposure in terms of how it might affect their development. I was reminded of a book my mother-in-law had recommended to me once, called “The Price of Privilege,” which discusses the claim that in affluent communities, external accomplishments and material items (such as cell phones as other electronics), are becoming more important to children than their own happiness. Excited about the connection I had made, I researched more about the topic and wrote my discussion in just a matter of minutes. From there on, each chapter’s discussion became easier and easier for me.

It may seem like a small and insignificant thing, but one of the most meaningful accomplishments for me in this class was learning how to share my thoughts and ideas with others. I grew up in an environment where I often feel stupid or ashamed for the things I thought or talked about. Even though I am an adult now, I guess I still carry around that childhood wound and often worry about what others will think about what I have to say. For years, I learned to keep my mouth closed, because opening it wasn’t worth the risks I faced when opening it. This class taught me that it was okay to have unique ideas, and it was okay to share what I thought without fear of being criticized or made fun of. About halfway through the semester, my wife and I were at dinner with her family when a topic came up for discussion that was very similar to what I had just learned in class. My wife’s mother is a psychologist, and can be quite intimidating sometimes to talk to, but I found the words and added my thoughts to the discussion. It was such a small thing, but it really was a huge step forward for me.

More than anything, this class has taught me critical thinking and how to express myself and my ideas to the people around me. As I continue to further my education, I hope to graduate with a degree in Psychology, which will require even more critical thinking and expression from me. For the first time in my life, I feel like I am prepared to do such a thing, and I feel that this course has prepared me for what lies ahead in my education. For that, I will always be grateful.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment